Jewish Prayer Series

January 9, 2020 Atlanta Free 0
Jewish Prayer Series

Congregation Shearith Israel is pleased to present a series exploring the meaning, purpose, power and potential of Jewish prayer during the 2019 – 2020 year, entitled “Jewish Prayer: Getting Our Head Around, Our Hearts In and Our Bodies Engaged”. All sessions will be led by Rabbi Ari Kaiman. Register here.
SERIES SCHEDULE
OUR HEAD AROUND JEWISH PRAYER:

  • Thursday, September 5: The transition from animal sacrifices to verbal prayer
  • Thursday, September 12: Development of the Prayer Book
  • Thursday, September 19: Modern Innovations and a Glimpse at Possible Future Prayer Experiences

OUR HEARTS INTO JEWISH PRAYER:

  • Thursday, November 7: The Music of Prayer – The different moods of prayer
  • Thursday, November 14: The Music of Prayer – Liturgical Poems and Congregational Melodies
  • Thursday, November 21: The Silence of Prayer – Meditation and the Shabbat Amidah

OUR BODIES ENGAGED WITH JEWISH PRAYER:

  • Thursday, January 9: Standing, Sitting and Bowing / Shmirat HaGuf
  • Thursday, January 16: Praying with a community – What’s a minyan and why?
  • Thursday, January 23: Solo Prayer – Hitbodedut

BRINGING IT ALL TOGETHER:

  • Thursday, March 5: To Whom are we Praying?
  • Thursday, March 12: Why do we pray?

+ More... - Less...
Fact Sheet
When
From Thursday, September 5, 2019 at 7:30 pm
Until Thursday, March 12, 2020 at 9:00 pm

Thursday, September 12, 2019, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Thursday, September 19, 2019, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Thursday, November 7, 2019, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Thursday, November 14, 2019, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Thursday, November 21, 2019, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Thursday, January 9, 2020, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Thursday, January 16, 2020, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Thursday, January 23, 2020, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Thursday, March 5, 2020, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

Thursday, March 12, 2020, 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Where
Congregation Shearith Israel
1180 University Drive
Atlanta, GA 30306
Price
Free

More From...

More At...